Cycling - Road

Cycling is a relatively new sport for Paralympians, with athletes with vision impairment the first group to take part. Road cycling made its Paralympic debut in 1984, with track cycling to follow in 1996. Cycling is now the third biggest sport at the Paralympic Games and in London.

In road-cycling, athletes use bicycles, tandems, hand-cycles and tricycles, depending on their ability and classification. There are three main events in road cycling - road race, time trial and mixed team relay across the different classes.

In the road race, all athletes start together and the first athlete or team to cross the line is the winner.

In the time trial, athletes start at 60-second intervals. The athlete to complete the course in the fastest time is the winner.

The team relay events are conducted as mass start events on a looped course. Each team consists of three riders, with no baton or other physical contact required to enact the relays. The race will be six laps long, with each rider doing two laps.

Links

Cycling Australia

Union of Cyclists International

At the London Paralympics

In London, 225 athletes (155 men, 70 women) are competing in both track and road cycling. There are 32 medal events in track cycling. Australia has a team of 15 (12 athletes, three pilots) competing in both track and road cycling.

Competition Dates

Wednesday 5 - Saturday 8 September, 2012

Competition Venue

Brands Hatch, Kent

Events/Disciplines

Road - road race, time trial, team relay

Factoring in combined class events

In some cycling events, riders from different classifications compete in the one event for one set of medals. The results are determined using a factoring system which is a mathematical formula that is applied to each rider’s times to calculate the final results. 

The athlete with the lowest times after the factoring has been applied is the winner. The system has been determined by tracking many athletes’ performances over a range of years including world rankings and results from benchmark events such as Paralympic Games and World Championships.  

In London, some events that will use the factoring system include the women’s C1- 3 road race and the mixed tricycle time trial event.

Combined class events

In some cases, where there is not an event available for a particular classification, athletes may have the option of competing up a class with riders with less impairment. For these events there is not a points or factoring system used to determine the results.  It is simply a matter of who rides the fastest wins. 

In London, the combined class events include the men’s C1-3 road race.

Classification

Cycling is open to athletes with a:

  • Vision impairment who have little or no vision
  • Physical impairment such as cerebral palsy, limb loss; joint restrictions, spinal damage or nerve injury

Riders receive a class depending on the type of bike they are able to ride.

CLICK HERE for a detailed explanation of the different cycling classes.

How can I get a classification?
You can request a classification using the APC Get classified form.

Rules & Equipment

Road cycling takes place on public roads, which are closed to traffic.

Bicycles, tricycles, tandems and handcycles must conform to the technical regulations of the Union Cyclists International (UCI) and IPC cycling rules.

Tandem - for athletes with vision impairment. The athlete sits on the back of the tandem with a sighted pilot riding in front.

Tricycle - is used by athletes whose balance does not allow them to ride a two-wheeled bicycle

Handcycle - pedals are operated by hand

Bicycle - is used by all other athletes, often with modifications for the specific athlete

Helmet - during competition, athletes must wear a hard shell protective helmet to a recognised international standard. The helmet colour is standardised depending on the class of the athlete (red, blue, green or white).

Cycling Australia is pleased to announce the Cyclones team for the UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships to be held in Baie-Comeau Canada, 29 August – 1 September 2013.

Thirteen-year-old Holly Modra, daughter of seven-time Paralympian Kieran Modra has been crowned national time trial champion after she won the tandem event at this year’s National Para-cycling Road Championships in regional Victoria.

The name Modra is synonymous with Australian Paralympic cycling, and now the next generation is preparing to take centre stage.

Thirteen-year-old Holly Modra will ride alongside her father and four-time Paralympic gold medallist Kieran Modra this weekend when they compete at the National Para-Cycling Road Championships in Echuca, Victoria.

THE cycling competition has wrapped up at the Paralympic Games with action in the mixed T1-2 and tandem men's road races.

Time trial gold medallist Carol Cooke, 51, lined up in the 24km combined tricycle race in the mixed gender event and had a solid ride to come home in seventh place, 6:05 behind local hero David Stone who won gold for Great Britain.

AUSTRALIA's hand-cyclists were in action today at the Brands Hatch motor racing circuit in Kent where Nigel Barley placed fourth and Stuart Tripp eighth in their respective road races.

DAVID Nicholas sprinted across the line to claim the bronze medal in the combined C1-3 men's road race just a day after winning gold in the time trial.

AUSTRALIA's cyclists have kicked off their Paralympic Games road campaign in London in winning form collecting five medals in time trial competition at the Brands Hatch motor racing circuit.

THE cycling action moves to Brands Hatch motor racing circuit on Day Seven with 13 Australians lining up in eight individual time trial races against the clock.

AUSTRALIA's cyclists have netted five medals on the opening day of racing at the velodrome with Canberra's Sue Powell claiming our first gold medal of the London 2012 Paralympic Games campaign in the C4 3km individual pursuit.

Denotes that medals will be decided.

Road Race - Women

Day 8
06 Sep 10:32 AM (UK) / 06 Sep 7:32 PM (AEST)
Road Race - Women Women's Individual C 1-3 Road Race
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 8
06 Sep 2:32 PM (UK) / 06 Sep 11:32 PM (AEST)
Road Race - Women Women's Individual C 4-5 Road Race
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 9
07 Sep 10:30 AM (UK) / 07 Sep 7:30 PM (AEST)
Road Race - Women Women's Individual H 1-3 Road Race
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 9
07 Sep 2:02 PM (UK) / 07 Sep 11:02 PM (AEST)
Road Race - Women Women's Individual H 4 Road Race
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 10
08 Sep 10:30 AM (UK) / 08 Sep 7:30 PM (AEST)
Road Race - Women Women's Individual B Road Race
Venue:
Brands Hatch

Individual Time Trial - Women

Day 7
05 Sep 12:02 PM (UK) / 05 Sep 9:02 PM (AEST)
Individual Time Trial - Women Women's Individual C 5 Time Trial
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 7
05 Sep 12:16 PM (UK) / 05 Sep 9:16 PM (AEST)
Individual Time Trial - Women Women's Individual C 4 Time Trial
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 7
05 Sep 12:26 PM (UK) / 05 Sep 9:26 PM (AEST)
Individual Time Trial - Women Women's Individual C 1-3 Time Trial
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 7
05 Sep 2:52 PM (UK) / 05 Sep 11:52 PM (AEST)
Individual Time Trial - Women Women's Individual B Time Trial
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 7
05 Sep 4:10 PM (UK) / 06 Sep 1:10 AM (AEST)
Individual Time Trial - Women Women's Individual H 4 Time Trial
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 7
05 Sep 4:21 PM (UK) / 06 Sep 1:21 AM (AEST)
Individual Time Trial - Women Women's Individual H 3 Time Trial
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 7
05 Sep 4:32 PM (UK) / 06 Sep 1:32 AM (AEST)
Individual Time Trial - Women Women's Individual H 1-2 Time Trial
Venue:
Brands Hatch

Road Race - Men

Day 8
06 Sep 10:30 AM (UK) / 06 Sep 7:30 PM (AEST)
Road Race - Men Men's Individual C 4-5 Road Race
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 8
06 Sep 2:30 PM (UK) / 06 Sep 11:30 PM (AEST)
Road Race - Men Men's Individual C 1-3 Road Race
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 9
07 Sep 10:32 AM (UK) / 07 Sep 7:32 PM (AEST)
Road Race - Men Men's Individual H 1 Road Race
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 9
07 Sep 2:00 PM (UK) / 07 Sep 11:00 PM (AEST)
Road Race - Men Men's Individual H 3 Road Race
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 9
07 Sep 4:30 PM (UK) / 08 Sep 1:30 AM (AEST)
Road Race - Men Men's Individual H 4 Road Race
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 9
07 Sep 4:32 PM (UK) / 08 Sep 1:32 AM (AEST)
Road Race - Men Men's Individual H 2 Road Race
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 10
08 Sep 2:30 PM (UK) / 08 Sep 11:30 PM (AEST)
Road Race - Men Men's Individual B Road Race
Venue:
Brands Hatch

Individual Time Trial - Men

Day 7
05 Sep 10:31 AM (UK) / 05 Sep 7:31 PM (AEST)
Individual Time Trial - Men Men's Individual C 5 Time Trial
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 7
05 Sep 10:50 AM (UK) / 05 Sep 7:50 PM (AEST)
Individual Time Trial - Men Men's Individual C 4 Time Trial
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 7
05 Sep 11:10 AM (UK) / 05 Sep 8:10 PM (AEST)
Individual Time Trial - Men Men's Individual C 3 Time Trial
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 7
05 Sep 11:28 AM (UK) / 05 Sep 8:28 PM (AEST)
Individual Time Trial - Men Men's Individual C 2 Time Trial
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 7
05 Sep 11:49 AM (UK) / 05 Sep 8:49 PM (AEST)
Individual Time Trial - Men Men's Individual C 1 Time Trial
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 7
05 Sep 2:30 PM (UK) / 05 Sep 11:30 PM (AEST)
Individual Time Trial - Men Men's Individual B Time Trial
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 7
05 Sep 3:10 PM (UK) / 06 Sep 12:10 AM (AEST)
Individual Time Trial - Men Men's Individual H 4 Time Trial
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 7
05 Sep 3:24 PM (UK) / 06 Sep 12:24 AM (AEST)
Individual Time Trial - Men Men's Individual H 3 Time Trial
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 7
05 Sep 3:37 PM (UK) / 06 Sep 12:37 AM (AEST)
Individual Time Trial - Men Men's Individual H 2 Time Trial
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Day 7
05 Sep 3:55 PM (UK) / 06 Sep 12:55 AM (AEST)
Individual Time Trial - Men Men's Individual H 1 Time Trial
Venue:
Brands Hatch

Individual Time Trial - Mixed

Day 7
05 Sep 4:43 PM (UK) / 06 Sep 1:43 AM (AEST)
Individual Time Trial - Mixed Mixed T 1-2 Time Trial
Venue:
Brands Hatch

Individual Road Race - Mixed

Day 10
08 Sep 10:32 AM (UK) / 08 Sep 7:32 PM (AEST)
Individual Road Race - Mixed Mixed T 1-2 Road Race
Venue:
Brands Hatch

Mixed H 1-4 Team Relay - Mixed

Day 10
08 Sep 5:45 PM (UK) / 09 Sep 2:45 AM (AEST)
Mixed H 1-4 Team Relay - Mixed Mixed H 1-4 Team Relay
Venue:
Brands Hatch
Individual Road Race - Mixed
Result
Mixed T 1-2 Road Race Carol Cooke 7 (51:22 )
Individual Time Trial - Men
Result
Men's Individual C 5 Time Trial Michael Gallagher 3 (33:12.03 ) BRONZE
Men's Individual C 3 Time Trial David Nicholas 1 (23:22.13 ) GOLD
Men's Individual B Time Trial Bryce Lindores 13 (33:12.27 )
Men's Individual H 4 Time Trial Stuart Tripp 9 (27:47.62 )
Men's Individual H 3 Time Trial Nigel Barley 2 (26:18.34 ) SILVER
Individual Time Trial - Mixed
Result
Mixed T 1-2 Time Trial Carol Cooke 1 (13:50.54 ) GOLD
Individual Time Trial - Women
Result
Women's Individual C 4 Time Trial Susan Powell 2 (26:31.30 ) SILVER
Women's Individual C 4 Time Trial Alexandra Green 4 (27:43.57 )
Women's Individual C 1-3 Time Trial Jayme Richardson 7 (30:52.13 )
Women's Individual C 1-3 Time Trial Simone Kennedy 9 (33:59.02 )
Road Race - Men
Result
Men's Individual C 4-5 Road Race Michael Gallagher 9 (1:56:06 )
Men's Individual C 1-3 Road Race David Nicholas 3 (1:42:51 ) BRONZE
Men's Individual H 3 Road Race Nigel Barley 4 (1:58:03 )
Men's Individual H 4 Road Race Stuart Tripp 8 (2:00:35 )
Men's Individual B Road Race Bryce Lindores 7 (2:28:48 )
Road Race - Women
Result
Women's Individual C 1-3 Road Race Simone Kennedy 6 (1:52:32 )
Women's Individual C 4-5 Road Race Susan Powell 9 (1:56:12 )